SCS Celebrates New Professorships

Faloutsos, Harchol-Balter, Sycara Honored During Virtual Event

Thursday, October 22, 2020 – by Byron Spice

Christos Faloutsos

A trio of distinguished School of Computer Science faculty members — Christos Faloutsos, Mor Harchol-Balter and Katia Sycara — formally received professorships during a virtual celebration on Thursday, Oct. 22.

“The onset of the pandemic forced us to delay and modify the usual ceremonies that accompany these professorships, but our appreciation for the academic excellence and service to the school of these three faculty members is in no way diminished,” said SCS Dean Martial Hebert.

Faloutsos, a professor in the Computer Science Department, received the Fredkin Professorship in Artificial Intelligence. His interests include large-scale data mining with an emphasis on graphs and time sequences, anomaly detection, tensors, and fractals. He came to CMU as visiting faculty in 1997 and joined CSD a year later.

An Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) fellow and an Amazon Scholar, Faloutsos has served on the executive committee of the ACM Special Interest Group on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (SIGKDD). He has earned numerous research and teaching awards, including the SIGKDD Innovations Award and the Pacific-Asia Conference on Knowledge Discovery Data Mining Distinguished Contributions Award.

For More Information, Contact:

Byron Spice | 412-268-9068 | bspice@cs.cmu.edu

Similar Posts